The DSN Best Paper Award and Distinguished Paper Award

Starting with DSN 2023, the conference will present up to three DSN Best Paper Awards to recognize the best technical papers each year at the conference. Up to 6-7 candidates are selected by the Program Committee, and then among these up to 3 are picked by the Steering Committee (in consultation with the PC Chairs) for the DSN Best Paper Award. Prior to 2023, a single paper was selected for the best paper award.

The 3 best papers papers will be presented in the Best Paper Award Session at the conference. Then, the decision for the Distinguished Paper Award is made by a vote of the conference attendees at the conclusion of the BPA Session.

List of Past Best Paper Award Winners

  • 2024: 
    • “On the Correctness of Metadata-based SBOM Generation: A Differential Analysis Approach (PER)”, Sheng Yu, Wei Song, Xunchao Hu, Heng Yin. (also Distinguished Paper Award)
    • “ZLB: A Blockchain to Tolerate Colluding Majorities”, Alejandro Ranchal-Pedrosa, Vincent Gramoli.
    • “JITBULL: Securing JavaScript Runtime with a Go/No-Go policy for JIT Engine”, Jean-Baptiste Decourcelle, Boris Teabe, Daniel Hagimont
  • 2023: 
    • “SHATTER: Control and Defense-Aware Attack Analytics for Activity-Driven Smart Home Systems”, N. Haque, M. Ngouen, M. Rahman, S. Uluagac, L. Njilla
    • “Making Replay Attack Protection Practical by Securing the DDR Interface”, A. Fakhrzadehgan, P. Ramrakhyani, M. Qureshi, M. Erez
    • “Devils in Your Apps: Vulnerabilities and User Privacy Exposure in Mobile Notification Systems”, J. Lou, X. Zhang, Y. Zhang, X. Li, X. Yuan, N. Zhang (also Distinguished Paper Award)
  • 2022: “CAROL: Confidence-Aware Resilience Model for Edge Federations”, Shreshth Tuli (Imperial College London), Giuliano Casale (Imperial College London), Nicholas R. Jennings (Loughborough University)
  • 2021: “PID-Piper: Recovering Robotic Vehicles from Physical Attacks” Pritam Dash (University of British Columbia, CA), Guanpeng Li (University of Iowa, US); Zitao Chen, Mehdi Karimibiuki, Karthik Pattabiraman (University of British Columbia, CA)
  • 2020: “CDN Backfired: Amplification Attacks Based on HTTP Range Requests” Weizhong Li (Tsinghua University), Kaiwen Shen (Tsinghua University), Run Guo (Tsinghua University), Baojun Liu (Tsinghua University), Jia Zhang (Tsinghua University), Haixin Duan (Tsinghua University), Shuang Hao (University of Texas at Dallas), Xiarun Chen (Peking University), Yao Wang (Beijing Information Science & Technology University)
  • 2019: “Understanding and Modeling On-Die Error Correction in Modern DRAM: An Experimental Study Using Real Devices” Minesh Patel (ETH Zürich); Jeremie Kim (ETH Zürich, CMU); Hasan Hassan (ETH Zürich); Onur Mutlu (ETH Zürich, CMU)
  • 2018: “Wren: Nonblocking Reads in Partitioned Transactional Causally Consistent Data Store” Kristina Spriovska, Diego Didona, Willy Zwaenepoel (EPFL)
  • 2017: “What Can We Learn from For Years of Data Center Hardware Failures?,” Guosai Wang, Wei Xu (Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences, Tsinghua University)
  • 2016: “A Quantitative Methodology for Security Monitor Deployment,” Uttam Thakore, Gabriel A. Weaver, and William H. Sanders (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • 2015: “Leveraging State Information for Automated Attack Discovery in Transport Protocol Implementations,” Samuel Jero, Hyojeong Lee, and Cristina Nita-Rotaru (Purdue University)
  • 2014: “Reliability and Security Monitoring of Virtual Machines Using Hardware Architectural Invariants,” Cuong Pham, Zachary Estrada, Phuong Cao, Zbigniew Kalbarczyk, and Ravishankar Iyer (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)