Avizienis and Chen win the 2018 Jean-Claude Laprie Award

April 20, 2018

Today, IFIP Working Group 10.4 announced that two outstanding papers have been selected as winners of the 2018 Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing:

  • Avizienis, A., & Chen, L. (1977). On the implementation of N-version programming for software fault tolerance during execution. Proc. COMPSAC, 1977, 149-155.

Avizienis and Chen’s On the Implementation of N-version Programming for Software Fault Tolerance during Execution introduced one of the most fundamental approaches to software fault tolerance. Through a set of concepts and definitions as well as principles of implementation, and by applying those principles in a carefully conducted experiment, the paper comprehensively introduces and evaluates the opportunities and challenges of N-version programming. The concept of N-version diversity introduced in the paper has significantly enhanced the design of reliable systems in industrial practice, for example in the triple-triple redundant 777 flight computer. In addition, as evidenced by the increasing number of citations the paper receives annually, its impact on the academic community is felt to this day and is not diminishing. This exceptional paper has been foundational to four decades of academic research in system design diversity with application to a variety of dependability concerns, including security.

Authors of the winning papers will be presented the award on June 26, 2018, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg, during the opening session of the Annual IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks

About the Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing

The award was created in 2011, in honor of Jean-Claude Laprie (1944-2010), whose pioneering contributions to the concepts and methodologies of dependability were influential in defining and unifying the field of dependable and secure computing. The award recognizes outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of Dependable Computing.

For more information on the Jean-Claude Laprie Award please visit

About IFIP WG 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance

IFIP Working Group 10.4 was established in 1980 with the aim of identifying and integrating approaches, methods and techniques for specifying, designing, building, assessing, validating, operating and maintaining dependable computer systems, that is those that are reliable, available, safe, and secure. Its 75 members from around the world meet twice a year to to conduct in-depth discussions of important technical topics to further the understanding and exposition of the fundamental concepts of dependable computing.

For more information on IFIP WG10.4 visit http://wg10.4.dependability.org

About the International Federation For Information Processing

IFIP is a non-governmental, non-profit umbrella organization for national societies working in the field of information processing. It was established in 1960 under the auspices of UNESCO as a result of the first World Computer Congress held in Paris in 1959. It is the leading multinational, apolitical organization in Information & Communications Technologies and Sciences.

For more information on IFIP visit http://www.ifip.org

Media Contact:

Charles B. Weinstock


This entry was posted in JCL award, WG10.4. Bookmark the permalink.