Baier, Haverkort, Hermanns, and Katoen Win the 2023 Jean-Claude Laprie Award

April 28, 2023

Today, IFIP Working Group 10.4 announced an outstanding paper has been selected as winner of the 2022 Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing:

Christel Baier, Boudewijn Haverkort, Holger Hermanns, & Joost-Pieter Katoen, “Model-checking algorithms for continuous-time Markov chains”, IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, vol. 29, no. 6, pp. 524-541, June 2003, doi: 10.1109/TSE.2003.1205180.

“Model-checking algorithms for continuous-time Markov chains”, authored by C. Baier, B. Haverkort, H. Hermanns, and J.P. Katoen, and published in IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering, 2003, presents a unifying theory and algorithm to evaluate a wide variety of performance and dependability measures for continuous-time Markov chain models. The proposed approach inspired many researchers and provided a theoretical foundation for various model-checking tools, including GreatSPN, PRISM, STORM, and COMPASS. Techniques first presented in the paper are being used in real-life, industrial applications of dependable and mission-critical systems, e.g., at the European Space Agency (ESA), the approach has been used for evaluating space system dependability and at BMW, the approach has been applied for evaluating designs of autonomous driving systems architectures. Also, the algorithms, and the supporting tools, were used for applications beyond the realm of dependable systems design, e.g., modeling and analysis of biological and biochemical systems and computational biology. Furthermore, the seminal work presented in the awarded paper was recently extended to evaluate quantum computing systems. Extensions of the approach were also used to model system survivability, stable storage systems, and telecommunications applications. This paper profoundly impacted the research and practice in applying the theoretical formulation of model checking in engineering practice to design and evaluate dependable and mission-critical systems.”

Authors of the winning papers will be presented the award in June 27, 2023 in Porto, Portugal during the opening session of the Annual IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks.

About the Jean-Claude Laprie Award in Dependable Computing

The award was created in 2011, in honor of Jean-Claude Laprie (1944-2010), whose pioneering contributions to the concepts and methodologies of dependability were influential in defining and unifying the field of dependable and secure computing. The award recognizes outstanding papers that have significantly influenced the theory and/or practice of Dependable Computing.

For more information on the Jean-Claude Laprie Award please visit

About IFIP WG 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance

IFIP Working Group 10.4 was established in 1980 with the aim of identifying and integrating approaches, methods and techniques for specifying, designing, building, assessing, validating, operating and maintaining dependable computer systems, that is those that are reliable, available, safe, and secure. Its 75 members from around the world meet twice a year to to conduct in-depth discussions of important technical topics to further the understanding and exposition of the fundamental concepts of dependable computing.

For more information on IFIP WG10.4 visit

About the International Federation For Information Processing

IFIP is a non-governmental, non-profit umbrella organization for national societies working in the field of information processing. It was established in 1960 under the auspices of UNESCO as a result of the first World Computer Congress held in Paris in 1959. It is the leading multinational, apolitical organization in Information & Communications Technologies and Sciences.

For more information on IFIP visit

Media Contact:

Charles B. Weinstock

This entry was posted in JCL award, WG10.4. Bookmark the permalink.